Patient Portal

Case Management

Case management is a collaborative process that includes the  screening, assessment, planning and coordination of options and services to meet a patient’s current care needs. Effective case management utilizes available resources to achieve high-quality and cost-effective outcomes.  Transition Planning, Utilization Management, Variance Tracking/Avoidable days, Patient Flow/Coordination, facilitation of care and denial management.

Meet Our Staff:

Director- Barbara Nealon, LSW,CHW,CDVC,CCJS,SWAC   978-630-6386 barbara.nealon@heywood.org

Care Coordinators- These Care Coordinators are Registered Nurses
Watkins 1 & ICU:  Robert King, RN  978-630-6546 robert.king@heywood.org   
Watkins 2 & Pedi: Joyce Rodgerson, RN  978-630-6436 joyce.rodgerson@heywood.org
Watkins 1&2: Elizabeth Ferrick, RN 978-630-6843 elizabeth.ferrick@heywood.org
Emergency, OBS, Nsy & SDC: Nancy Cloutier, RN  978-630-6227 nancy.cloutier@heywood.org
Per diem Staff: Laura Berg, RN, CCM  laura.berg@heywood.org

Secretary: Cynthia Sparks  978-630-6386 cynthia.sparks@heywood.org

Physician Advisor: Dr. Helen Heneghan, CMO

Location: The Care Coordinator offices are located on the medical surgical units with the central office housed on the second floor of the main building. 

Dept. Hours:  The Case Management Department is open from 8:00 am to 4:30 pm Monday-Friday

The Care Coordinators work as a member of the multidisciplinary team.  They use evidence based criteria (InterQual) program to assess and evaluate acute care needs at the time of admission and throughout the hospitalization. All patients with be evaluated with respect to the medical necessity of admissions to the institution; the duration of stays; and, professional services furnished.   When discharge planning needs are identified upon admission by Care Coordinators referrals are made to those specific members or the inter-disciplinary team. While the Care Coordinators work closely with Social Service, they work closely with other disciplines to facilitate patient flow through the continuum.

The Care Coordinators are a resource to the medical staff offering additional knowledge of benefits that are available to the patients and payer requirements.

Have a Question

If you have questions regarding case management services prior to your hospitalization or during your hospital stay, please contact Case Management at (978) 630-6383.